Help us come to a kitchen near you!

In September 2018, the California Homemade Food Operations Act (AB 626) unanimously passed the state Legislature and was signed into law by Governor Jerry Brown!

however, counties must OPt-In to offer the permits.

 
WHISK fist.png
 

Here’s what needs to happen

Screen Shot 2019-01-25 at 3.53.27 PM.png
 

how you can get your county onboard:

  1. Reach out to the Lead for your County. Leads have the latest information on whether your County is opting-in!

  2. Sign up to be a Press Contact. With more news likely to come soon, we're looking for cooks (in CA and beyond) who are willing to speak with interested journalists. Please fill out this form if you are willing to be a Press Contact

  3. Support the effort on Social Media. Make sure you’re signed up for our emails and following us on Facebook for the latest updates and then share our page with friends. Asking just a few friends to get involved goes a really long way!

    1. You can also join our Q&A forum or email advocacy@cookalliance.org if you have specific questions.


County implementation leads

Local leads are responsible for leading conversations with elected officials and organizing support within each county. Please email the lead(s) in your County, and copy our California Implementation Coordinator, Peter Ruddock (peter@cookalliance.org), with how you’d like to be involved:

  • County Lead(s): Take leadership on a local advocacy campaign

  • Core Organizing Group: Attend bi-weekly organizer meetings, help with outreach efforts, and meet in-person with elected officials

  • Advocates: Make calls and send emails to elected officials

***

contacts by County

  • Alameda County

    • Achala Koushik (akoushik@kitchens2tables.com) // Primary Co-Lead

    • Ian Caliendo (iancaliendo@gmail.com) // Primary Co-Lead

    • Lee Thomas (grilleeq@gmail.com) // Primary Co-Lead

    • Susie Wyshak (susie@foodstarter.com) // Core Organizing Group

  • Colusa County

    • Lynda Reynolds (csaveggies@hotmail.com) // Primary Lead

  • Imperial County

    • Karen Bailon (karenbailon@icloud.com) // Primary Lead

    • Carolyn Wilson (imperialfitfoods@gmail.com) // Primary Co-Lead

  • Long Beach

    • Tony Damico (tonylbfresh@gmail.com) // Primary Lead

  • Marin County

    • Michael Siminoff (msimi555@gmail.com) // Core Organizing Group

  • Napa County

    • Brianna Buffington (briannarbuffington@gmail.com) // Primary Lead

  • Orange County

    • Keith Schildt (kschildt@laverne.edu) // Primary Co-Lead

    • Roke Ghodsi (roke_ghodsi@yahoo.com) // Primary Co-Lead

    • Keith Brooking (keith.brooking@athomegrub.com) // Core Organizing Group

  • Sacramento County

    • Ashwin Thirunahari (ashwin@gmail.com) // Primary Co-Lead

    • Tina Cates (tlcates7@outlook.com) // Primary Co-Lead

    • Christopher Lopez (chefclopez66@gmail.com) // Core Organizing Group

  • San Diego

    • Ann Case (me@anncase.com) // Primary Co-Lead

    • Elly Brown (elly@sdfsa.org) // Primary Co-Lead

    • Scott Newcomer (snewcomer24@gmail.com) // Core Organizing Group

    • Stepheni Norton (stepheni@dickinson.farm) // Core Organizing Group

  • San Francisco

    • Matthew Dumas (dumas.matthew@icloud.com) // Primary Lead

    • Dave Yen (davecyen@gmail.com) // Core Organizing Group

  • San Joaquin County

    • Mariza Ruelas (mariza209@gmail.com) // Primary Lead

  • San Mateo County

    • Nikunj Bajaj (nikunjbjj@gmail.com) // Primary Co-Lead

  • Santa Barbara County

    • Bobbi Thompson (bobbiscupcakecreations@gmail.com) // Primary Lead

  • Santa Clara County

    • Diego Ortiz (dortiz@spur.org) // Primary Co-Lead

    • Hemanth Tammareddi (htammareddi@gmail.com) // Primary Co-Lead

    • Sindhu Vairavel (avsindhu93@gmail.com) // Primary Co-Lead

  • Solano County

    • LaDonna Williams (zzeria@aol.com) // Primary Lead

  • Sonoma County

    • Wayne Morgenthaler (wmorgenthaler@gmail.com) // Core Organizing Group

  • Yolo County

    • Django Mangalam (geoffreymangalam@gmail.com) // Primary Lead


Sample opt-in resolution language

Screen Shot 2018-11-14 at 1.49.37 PM.png

Thank you for your support!